ITIL® Foundation eLearning

The ITIL® Foundation certificate in IT Service Management certifies that the candidate has gained knowledge of the ITIL® terminology, structure and basic concepts and has comprehended the core principles of ITIL® practices for IT Service Management. Course fee includes one certificate test.

When paid with Sovelto Access -credits, you will be charged the corresponding amount of credits to the Euro-price. Please contact sales: 020 7776 670 or for exact amount of credits in your case.

Language: Finnish

Or contact sales: 020 7776 670 or

The ITIL® Foundation course is the entry-level course for certification in IT Service Management (ITSM).

This course covers the latest version (2011) of ITIL®. It is presented from the perspective of managing IT Services through their lifecycle from conception through implementation and finally retirement using the five core AXELOS publications: Service Strategy (SS), Service Design (SD), Service Transition (ST), Service Operations (SO) and Continual Service Improvement (CSI). It promotes alignment with the business as well as the improvement of operational efficiency.

Students who have followed this Computer Based course, and have done some self study, are suitably prepared to take the associated ITIL® Foundation test. The ITIL® Foundation certificate is a requirement for attending any of the ITIL® intermediate level courses available in this track.

The ITIL® Foundation certificate in IT Service Management certifies that the candidate has gained knowledge of the ITIL® terminology, structure and basic concepts and has comprehended the core principles of ITIL® practices for IT Service Management. The ITIL® Foundation certificate in IT Service Management is not intended to enable the holders of the certificate to apply the ITIL® practices for service management without further guidance.

IT Professionals, IT Support Staff, Application, Project and Business Managers, Any member of an IT team involved in the delivery of IT Services.

There are no pre-requisites for this course, although a basic knowledge of Service Management concepts will be helpful. This eLearning course takes 3×8 hours to complete and prepares you to the certificate test.

Course and Learning Objectives

Upon successful completion of the education and examination components, related to this certification, Candidates can expect to:
· Comprehend the principles and concepts of IT Service Management as a practice.
· Comprehend the ITIL® Service Lifecycle and its purpose.
· Be aware of the generic concepts and definitions used in ITIL®
· Comprehend the key principles and models
· Be aware of the processes and their role within the lifecycle concept
· Be aware of the main functions within an IT organization
· Be aware of the roles as defined within ITIL®
· Be aware of the importance of technology and architecture to IT Service Management
· Be aware of the need for training and the development of competences.
· Understand the best practices of implementing ITIL® within an organization.
· Be prepared to take the ITIL® Foundation Certification exam

Course Approach

This fully APMG accredited, self-managed eLearning course, will provide you with all relevant knowledge to pass your Service Transition exam and gain your certification. We do however advise to add time with a “Live” instructor or coach to enhance the learning and acquire deeper insight into the material taught in this course. During the access purchased through the license, this ITIL® Intermediate eLearning Program offers you:
· UNLIMITED access to online material, including:
· iPad/iPhone compatible, instructor-led presentations, watchable at your convenience
· Study book and quiz questions
· Exercises & sample exams, designed to reinforce knowledge and prepare you for the exam
* Consider upgrading to receive advanced trainer support for an extra fee.

Concepts Covered

· Introduction/Housekeeping
· Introduction to generic concepts and definitions
· IT as a Service
· Introduction to processes and process management
· The Service Lifecycle approach

· Purpose, goal, objectives & Scope
· Value Creation through Services
· Utility and Warranty
· Assets – Resources and Capabilities
· Service Strategy – Main activities
· Service Strategy processes
· Service Portfolio management
· Demand Management
· Financial Management
· Business Relationship Management

· Purpose, goal, objectives & Scope
· Competences, skills and training
· Roles in Process management
· The Service Portfolio and the Service Catalog
· Service Design processes
· Design Coordination
· Service Design aspects and the 4 P’s
· Technology and Architecture
· Service Level Management
· Service Catalog Management
· Capacity Management
· Availability Management
· IT Service Continuity Management
· Information Security Management
· Supplier management

· Purpose, goal, objectives & Scope
· Service Transition value to the business
· Technology and architecture
· Service Transition Processes
· Change Management and the 7 R’s
· Service Asset and Configuration Management
· Transition planning and support
· Release and Deployment Management
· Knowledge Management

· Purpose, goal, objectives & Scope
· Service Operation definitions
· Service Operation functions
· The Service Desk
· Technical Management
· Application Management
· IT Operations Management
· Service Operations Processes
· Event Management
· Incident Management
· Request Fulfillment
· Problem Management
· Access Management

· The Service Lifecycle
· Purpose, goal, objectives & Scope
· The CSI Register
· Models and Processes
· The seven step Improvement Process
· The Deming Cycle and the DIKW model
· Measurements, KPI’s and metrics
· Continual Service Improvement activities
· Roles in CSI
· Continual Service Improvement interfaces
· Interface with Service Level Management
· Risk management

· Home study
· Sample Exams and classroom feedback
· Recaps and discussions


The exam is closed book with forty (40) multiple choice questions. The pass score is 65% (26 out of 40 questions). The exam lasts 60 minutes. The exam can be taken in two formats: Paper based or Online. One test try is included in the course fee.

Upon successfully achieving the ITIL® Foundation certificate, the student will be recognized with 2 credits in the ITIL® qualification scheme.
Upon successfully achieving the ITIL Foundation certificate, the student will be recognized with 21 Professional Development Units (PDU’S).


Keywords: ,


Places left:
No participant limit
690,00  + VAT

Responsible person

Pasi Lehtiniemi

Pasi Lehtiniemi